Skip to content

All the little lessons…

March 2, 2010

Most people who know me know that I do yoga, and I’ve got to say that it’s addicting. It’s the precious moments in your head as you hear your breath funnel in and out that you gets snippets of clarity. A lot of times I have thoughts instantly followed by the consequences, conditions, and judgements, but somehow when we are still, all we hear is the echo of truth from our own space in this world. It’s not supposed to be complicated to walk through the world but we make it so by telling ourselves that what we have/want/give is not of enough value.

Life is easier than you’d think; all that is necessary is to accept the impossible, do without the  indispensable, and bear the intolerable.

                                                                  -Kathleen Norris

Learn the wisdom of compromise, for it is better to bend a little than to break.

                                                                  -Jane Wells

So we face each day fully aware of who we are (or at least want to be) and try to hold on to it until the night…but sometimes that is easier said than done. So I’ll just keep trying 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. mhneed2 permalink
    March 11, 2010 8:09 pm

    Satiety. Being complacent. I can do that with a lot of things, definitely not everything though. I can be satisfied with my material possessions, but I have a tough time being satisfied with how well I keep those things. I can be satisfied with my position within a company, but I have a tough time being satisfied with the quality of my work. My inability to remove my expectations is really the only source of strife.
    I have to disagree that life is easier than we think. The brokenness is what makes it so difficult. I think that’s why Kathy follows up her opening statement with an impossible condition. There are people who are better at one of those three than the other, and maybe there are a few who can do it all. I just doubt people can truly apply it panacetically since the only solution she proposes is so far reaching. Like I said, there’s probably a few people who can, but I would argue they’d have a tough time without Him.

Leave a Reply

