Skip to content

Call to battle

May 20, 2009

I’m still in an odd place where this blog is concerned not knowing if  I really feel like keeping up with it this summer. But…

I got some news yesterday that’s tugged on my heart relentlessly. I found out that an old friend from HS has been diagnosed with a brain tumor. To be more specific it’s an oligoastrocytoma. The funny thing is that about a week ago I was watching the boys play outside when he stumbled into my thoughts and I couldn’t get him out, so I went onto Facebook and looked him up. So yesterday I get and update saying he has started an info page for friends and family about his progress as he nears surgery. I think the way God works is simply amazing, why would I think of someone that I hadn’t talked to in almost a decade?, why couldn’t I get his name out of my mind?, why did my heart break a little when I found out about his tumor?. Maybe because as christians we really are one big army here on Earth to support one another. Maybe I couldn’t get his name out of my head because an angel was was yelling his name, calling to troops to battle. Just recently at our church we were able to witness a real miracle, by watching our whole congregation pray for healing  for a small child and three days later hearing that the doctors could find nothing wrong with him (the test must have been wrong).  I believe we can pray healing into the lives of our family & friends. When my grandad had a lung tumor the deacons of the church prayed over him the night before surgery and when the x-rays the morning before sugery showed no tumor the doctors were amazed.

I think we all have heard of a story similar to this. So let this be my shout to call the troops to battle… “PRAY!!!!” Pray for healing, pray for peace, pray for wisdom for his doctors, pray for his famliy’s strength, pray for absolute recovery. Bryce really is one of those people whose personality and energy has a gravitational pull of it’s own, he has a light that really could change the world. I believe he will get the chance.

bryce

I will keep everyone up to date on his progress and I absolutely expect many of you to pray. What I know so far is that on June first they start brain mapping to make sure they don’t injure any parts of his brain that control his speech or memory during surgery and then on June 4 they plan to operate. I set a reminder in my phone for the morning of surgery to pray, imagine if everyone did that, maybe we could fill the room with a thousand angels!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 10:51 am

    Awesome Ami! Thanks for this reminder. God is everything. I will make a note to pray that day. With prayer, anything is possible! It is so great so see your faith growing. I know God has His hand on your life. Pray also for a friend of mine who has a masectomy on June 1st. We are all part of each other. I love you!

  2. Vicki permalink
    May 21, 2009 10:54 am

    Your story brought tears to my eyes because it is awesome the way God uses each of us to help others. I will pray with you for this young man.

  3. May 22, 2009 8:06 am

    We’re praying here in the Smith house! I don’t think we can even begin to know the impact prayer can have in our lives and in the lives of those around us!

  4. Jen permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:02 am

    Thanks for sharing so we could all be praying. I wanted to let you know we have a close friend who had the same type tumor earlier this year and underwent surgery for it. He is doing wonderful! I didn’t know if Bryce is the kind of guy who would want to talk to someone who had undergone the same thing. Anyhow, let me know! I know our friend Jared would love to give some insight!

  5. Florencia permalink
    August 11, 2009 8:46 pm

    You are an angel!….God will give you all the blessings you deserve!….

    How is your friend doing?

Leave a Reply

