Skip to content

Nothing like a good book

February 16, 2009

The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (Harper Fiction)

Wicked by Gregory Maguire,  since the book always seems to be better than the movie  musical I’ve decided that I should probably read it since I thought the play was pretty incredible.                        

The History of a Cold-Blooded Love Affair

Diamond: The history of a cold-blooded love affair by Matthew Hart. I thought everyone loved diamonds as much as I do, but after talking to Micah he assured me that most women just love “pretty things” not the real history behind the industry. It’s been as awesome as any history/science/business/adventure novel I’ve ever read. It starts in 1999 with the discovery of a 76ct. true pink diamond in Brazil, then leads into  the geology of the Kimber Pipe where diamonds are born and John Gurney’s postdoctoral work that cracked the mystery behind them ( and the fact that DeBeers tried to keep it from being published!). I’m only on the third chapter!!!!

The Duet

The Duet by Robert Elmer. I’m only a chapter in but it looks like it will be a sweet love story from a widowers point of view.

Emma (Modern Library Classics)

Emma by Jane Austen. Just plain good.

Marked (House of Night, Book 1)

Marked by P.C. Cast. Everyone knows I loved Twilight and I like just about anything with vampires and werewolves so I figured whynot give this a chance. I DEVOURED this book in a couple of hours. It has a twist that I’ve yet to see any vampyre book use. Apparently becoming a vampyre is something locked in our DNA that isn’t revealed until teenage years. It is societally accepted (but looked down upon). Once the “mark” has shown itself you only have a day or so to move into the boarding school or you will die. You are there for 4 years where by the end you are either completely acclimated and able to control your bloodlust, or your body rejects the change and you die.

I like to read a lot, and I like to have a lot to read. So depending on my mood and how much brain capacity I have I’ll pick I a book and escape for a few hours. There’s honestly nothing like a good book.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2009 7:09 pm

    Let me know what you think about wicked…Im thinking about reading it after I finish the shopaholic series. 🙂

  2. February 16, 2009 8:12 pm

    Holy cow!!! I had forgotten the precious pasttime of reading. That is one of those things I haven’t done in a long while….there is the occasional Martha Stewart magazine or Cookie but I hadn’t even considered a book in well over a year. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. February 17, 2009 8:50 am

    I agree.

  4. Laura Triplett permalink
    February 18, 2009 10:26 am

    btw- I have the next in the series after Wicked if you would like to borrow. Just let me know and I will send it with Brock to work.

Leave a Reply

