Skip to content

Love is in the air

February 13, 2009

Tomorrow is definately going to be a “lovely” day (pun intended), and women all across the world will be getting engaged or married. Micah proposed to me on Valentines Day back in 2002…meeeemories (music fades in). In the spirit of that statement I want to make a list, I think what makes an engagement story so special is the the personal detail, so I’m going to take the 3 women I know best, my mom and sisters, and guess what their perfect proposal/ring would be. (Let me know if I’m right guys).

Mom: (Disclaimer: Since I have no idea how my dad proposed this is meant in a sense of fun with no disrespect intended). It would start with a private cabana on a beach around sunset. Sounds; waves crashing, seagulls cawing, deep sigh. Smells; briny ocean air, coconut oil lotion, perfect Italian food (sprinkled with fresh basil). Actions; (Insert perfect speech) down on one knee, presentation of ring. Mom has very strong hands and doesn’t really like “dainty” jewelry, she also wears a lot of color. So I chose something, bright and beautiful.

5 ct. emerald cut yellow sapphire

 Tami: Start with a picnic in a beautiful park (no one else around). Lots of pillows and soft quilt to lay on, dogs perched lazily under a nearby tree. Good “drinkable” (as my sister would say) wine, cheese nut fruit platter, soft music. He would hand over a wrapped package that would turn out to be a much wanted book, she would immediately open it, the inside pages would be cut out to hold a ring box. Down on one knee (insert speech), open ring box. My sister claims to not be a traditionalist, but she is, she’s just got a lot of flair. So I chose an Art Deco ring “with a little flair” (Afterwards he would give her an “uncut” copy of previously mentioned book)

2.5 ct cushion diamond with French Rubies

 Mandi: I think she would enjoy a surprise trip to New York, to be met at the airport by a limo, then taken to the Ritz where a new (very tiny) dress would be waiting in a box on the bed. She would then be whisked away to the Rainbow room overlooking the city. After dinner and two bottles of champagne her beau would ask her to dance, after the dance was over he would commandeer the band mic, getting the attention of the entire room (insert speech), present ring. *roaring applause*. Knowing that she has never shied away from attention, likes really big jewelry, and prefers to be unique…

13.5 ct asher cut ring

 So there you have it. I might be way off the mark, since people do change, but non the less I think I’m close. By the way all the rings are from Fay Cullen, who’s sight I visit frequently. Here’s my favorite ring from their sight.

2 ct. old mine cut diamond surronded by French sapphires

Take a min to brag on your husband and tel me how he proposed (or how you would like your future husband to).

 

FF.Final

Because I think marriage in general is Faboulous and what better way to start your married life that a fabulous proposal, so I’m using this post as my Fabulous Friday entry at Simply Seleta.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 1:09 pm

    Ohhh I like Mandis proposal! 😉 What would you pick for me! Perhaps if we can dream up the perfect proposal, it will happen!

  2. mrsneedham permalink*
    February 13, 2009 2:27 pm

    I think he should take you to NYC at the begining of October when the air is cool and the sun is still warm. You would trot around the city all day grabbing yummy street food and visiting the cutest shops. He would buy you the “perfect little dress” that you had found and tell you to put in on now so he could take you to dinner. He’d also buy you a cheap little pashmina knockoff in Chinatown to keep your shoulders warm. (He’d act like this was all on a whim, even though he’d curiously been wearing a blazer all day) Then he’d take you to the gates of Central Park and flag down a horse carriage. You’d take it “once around the park” so you could enjoy the end to a perfect fall day with all the trees turning crimson and gold. Then you’d stop The Central Park Boat House for dinner, you’d sit on the dock. After the most yummy desert when the sun is setting over the lake he’d get on one knew (insert speech) he’d give you his grandmothers 1920’s Tiffany engagement ring.
    Afterwards he’d explain that he’d already asked your Dad permission and your parents, families, and closest friends were waiting in a private room inside for your engagement party.

    Yep I think that just about does it. 🙂

  3. February 13, 2009 3:48 pm

    This was creative. And how romantic to be proposed to on V-day! Thanks for playing along!

  4. Laura Triplett permalink
    February 13, 2009 10:40 pm

    ok- since you opened the door i have to brag on Brockoli- he went the NYC route. He proposed in central park on New Years Eve (@ 11 AM-ish) on a bench near the Beethoven Statue. It was the quietest place in Central Park I have ever seen.

    Then we went to this fab Middle Eastern fusion restaurant called Spice Market in Chelsea.

    Ami, BTW- the only thing that would have been better is if that GIANT Asscher would have been present!

    HAPPY V-DAY!

  5. mrsneedham permalink*
    February 14, 2009 9:44 am

    Yah, Brockli did really good,I remember that weekend…when you go inducted into the Big “nerd” Love family. 🙂

  6. February 14, 2009 11:37 am

    Ami, You must write a book! You are a gifted writer. You could become a famous romance novelist and then I can brag that you are my neice! Also, you are such a fantastic sister! You know your family so well. God bless you and Happy Valentine’s Day!

  7. Laura Triplett permalink
    February 14, 2009 6:42 pm

    BTW- on a side note…I totally made Brock the Rice Krispy Treat Bouquet for Valentines and he LOVED it…he is totally an 8 year old about some things and Rice Krispy Treats are one of them!

Trackbacks

  1. happy…

Leave a Reply

