Skip to content

Little changes everywhere

February 9, 2009
Because of the icestorm last week I started making small changes here, there and everywhere. You can only stare at your space for so long before you decide it must be dealt with. Then after spending all day Saturday in Cincy with  my neighbor for her birthday I found treasures all over the place. We went to the Gap outlet where I scored scarves, gloves, hats, and shirts for $.50/ea. (great way to start). Then we went to Jungle Jim’s where I spent $70 on groceries but it was all the yummy ethnic food that is soooo hard to find around here, like various Indian pickle, mustard oil, spring roll wraps and infused chocolates (for my Valentine.)
these will be perfect with some good wine
these will be perfect with some good wine

Then we headed of to IKEA to get a ton of stuff for our house and I’ll post about that later (when the house is clean). Then we went to Pottery Barn where I scored this super cute squirrel S&P set for $3.

nicknack goodness
nicknack goodness

Since we were at the mall and it took us forever to find a space we decided to put around a few more stores. I forgot what it was like to go in a store and not have to scan everything under 4ft. for insurance purposed and constantly utter “no touch”. We went in West Elm where I scored these silk pillow covers for $4/ea. and this cute little rabbit for $5.

screenprinted chaises on pillows
screenprinted chaises on pillows
my very own magic rabbit
my very own magic rabbit

Now to show you all the little things that have been done around here as a result of  10 straight days without leaving my cave. First I got in this adorable print from Etsy that I put in an unused frame next to my Nana’s old potato ricer up on top of our cabinets.

What's Cooking print
What’s Cooking print

Then I ran across this little hammered copper tile that Micah made when he was a kid. Our house is full of stuff that his dad, the kids, and I have painted and I really wanted to display something of his. I think it looks PERFECT added to our backsplash.

Copper swordfish tile
Copper swordfish tile

Remember the bookcase that was in our bathroom that I  said I was going to re-purpose, well I turned it on it’s side and painted on some legs to match our kitchen table and I think it looks really groovy.

farmhouse illusion bench
farmhouse illusion bench

Mom gave the boys this cute little wooden elephant I gave it a whitewash  and put it under the hall table. I just love the irony of a “white elephant” in the room (since there’s usually one anyway).

the white elephant
the white elephant

Since I started cleaning out the guest room while trapped by the ice I really wanted to get rid of anything we didn’t need, so I sold the boys old crib, then I started looking on craigslist for a new chair for their room (they had completely destroyed their old rocker).  I sold the crib for $75 and paid $80 for the chair so I like to think I actually bought it for $5…amazing deal!!! It’s a glider rocker and it’s so perfect for them, we had trouble fitting both of the boys in our lap during story time but this chair is the perfect width to fit them both.

Gentry and company in his new gingham glider
Gentry and company in his new gingham glider

That’s pretty much all of it. So I will leave you with a picture of my newest and uber cute nephew.

cowboy in training
cowboy in training
5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 12:05 pm

    I am so jealous of those squirrel s&p shakers! What a find!! We often venture up to Cincy to hit Ikea, Trader Joes, the mall, and the St. Vincent DePaul thrift stores. We’ll make a trek up there this weekend actually. We have yet to go to Jungle Jims. Maybe we’ll do that this time…
    Thanks for the tips about the indian grocery next to Tandoor! We go to the asian market by Sams to get our mangoes and shallots which are so cheap too!

  2. mhneed2 permalink
    February 9, 2009 3:39 pm

    The hammered copper is supposed to be a marlin. In the 8th grade, I walked to and from school. I picked up The Old Man and the Sea and would read it on the “commute”. The marlin is what I imagined the fish looked like.
    BTW, that book is one very long chapter… in fact, it’s one very long sentence.

  3. Maria Bennett permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:23 am

    You have been very busy! I love all of the additions!

  4. February 10, 2009 11:54 am

    Ami, I am constantly amazed and impressed by your creativity! What a clever idea to paint the kitchen legs on the bookcase. The great thing is you have the artistic ability to follow through on your ideas. I envy your creative gifts!
    Love you all!

  5. February 10, 2009 11:55 am

    One other thing…I sure wish I could see your house in person!

Leave a Reply

