Skip to content

continued facelift

October 8, 2008

Inspiration: After being continually inspired by the lovely Off the Wall blog, I decided to go for the big guns and finally indulge myself with a antique blue front door. So here’s what I was going for.

DSC05942

antique turquoise island

IMG_3643.JPG

aged doors

IMG_3636.JPG

french country facade

 Execution: I put two coats of the same paint I used on the shutter on the door. I used Valspar’s Antiquing glaze on top of that. Since I didn’t have a space to work on them that was away from the elements the glaze dried much faster than I would have liked, so some spots don’t look quite like I would have prefered. I do however get a smile on my face when I look at my new door.

two coats of blue

two coats of blue

 
new front door

new front door

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jineane82 permalink
    October 17, 2008 11:22 am

    I just saw your door for the first time (in the daylight) and it looks really good. It really does looks antique.

  2. November 3, 2008 9:08 am

    Ami, I miss your blogs! Are you coming back?

  3. November 4, 2008 6:50 pm

    Oh wow, just stumbled across this. How cool of you to feature our blog and our work. So glad we were able to inspire you to do your door. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

