Skip to content

I’m gonna do it

September 5, 2008

I’m gonna go there, with all the other millions of opinionated bloggers, I’m going to talk about the election.

I went to my doctor’s appt. today and had a wonderful 45 min. conversation on politics and religion. I will preface this by saying my doctor is a woman and she is Muslim. She is the most wonderful doctor and we’ve had many conversations over the years about these topics and it’s fun to bounce ideas off each other knowing that we come from different (but always surprisingly similar) points of view. 

I was really surprised the hear that she was torn on who she would vote for, she liked both of them for different reasons. She said her mind got made up by looking at the VP’s. And we both agreed that we are pretty sick of the whole shebang. While the conventions have been interesting, I hate that they are trying to fire up their base (hello! they’re already voting for you), I hate the chanting crowds, and especially the inbetween speech commentaries.  I know I’m not the only one feeling this way.

So I bring to you my silver lining approach. What’s that you say: It brings to mind that no matter who wins some good will be done.

McCain/Palin: He brings to the table extreme amounts of warfare knowledge and compassion, considering we are at war this could be helpful. He has a long standing bi-partisan record that might get congress out of a rut.

Obama/Biden: He might help communities (Like the Muslim) feel like they no longer have to stay under the radar.

NO MATTER WHAT: Let’s remember that we’ve never had a woman or multi-culteral person in leadership of our country. So no matter who wins we should feel proud that our country (at least parts of it) are progressing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    September 8, 2008 10:38 pm

    Very good comments, I especially appreciate your willingness to see the “silver lining!” I think I am also getting to that sick of the whole shebang stage too. Thankfully, only 60 more days of active campaigning…

Leave a Reply

