Skip to content

Thursday’s Quote

August 28, 2008

I’ve always been a lover of words, quotes, language. I would love to be one of those people who could quote all the books they’ve read and know 3 or 4 languages, but alas I’m not one of those. I will say I have the extraordinary gift of paraphrasing 🙂 I might not ever be able to quote my favorite authors, but I’ll be able to give you the gist of it. I stumbled across a perfect quote for a blogger today:

“We write to taste life twice, once in the moment and once in retrospection.”

                                                                                   -Anias Nin

I love that she used the word taste, it’s perfect, when we read someones work we get a little taste of their lives, emotions, physical presence. I hope that a decade from now I’ll be able to come back and read what I’ve written here and “taste” my 20’s, the early moments of my marriage, the struggles of building and sustaining a family, and the sweetness of my energetic monkeys.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 9:44 pm

    Ami, I hope you somehow keep a hard copy of your blog. You are a great writer.

Leave a Reply

