Skip to content

My first wedding cake

July 18, 2008
We are one week away from Sara and Patch’s wedding so I’m starting to pull together everything for the cake and make my way to the grocery store. I’m a little nervous, even though I’ve known about it since Thanksgiving, and Sara is probably the most laid back bride I’ve ever met. To begin with she just wanted a white cake with vanilla buttercream, just because it was easiest…but I asked her to at least tell me what she dreamed of so I can at least try to give her the best cake possible.

She (and Patch) decided on strawberry buttercream, and the most professional way to do that is dehydrated strawberry powder. On small cakes you can stir in strawberry perserves, but on a wedding cake that will no doubt be on display for hours, theres a fear of the red juice leaking and staining the fondant. So when we heard that a strawberry patch down the road had pick your own berries for $1.99/qt we took the kids out and picked 3 gallons. Lucky for me my wonderful husband has access to super cool machines that can freeze dry anything to -80* or some crazy number so he took the berries in and two days later we had 16 0z. of oraganic Kentucky strawberry powder…SCORE! Normally strawberry powder is $20/2oz. plus shipping.

The cake will match the black and white theme of the wedding. It’s a 6 tier white cake 6″-16″ rounds with black ribbon around the bottom of each tier and some black scroll work drawn on top with royal icing. It will have a small cluster of pink roses on top and she picked out a beautiful silver cake stand from Purdon’s.

5tier cake without scrollwork
Similar 5-tier cake minus scrollwork

Cakestand
Cakestand

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vicki Moser permalink
    July 21, 2008 2:24 pm

    Wow, I can’t wait to see this one. You are like your Mom, you will take on anything just believing you can do and then, just doing it. Love you so much. Thanks for archiving those dances. I love that show.

Leave a Reply

