Skip to content

Smart Car

June 28, 2008

Some friends of ours told us their neighbor is getting a Smart Car, and while I’d heard about them I’d never actually seen one. Probably because they have only been sold in the US since Jan ’08. The are two seater coupes that are supposed to get anywhere from 45-60mph (depending on who you talk to). While both Micah and I were impressed by the gas mileage we both thought that anything that small wouldn’t fit his 6’4″ frame…but after looking into it I was completely surprised. I looked at a lot of little commercial clips on their site and did some investigating and it’s pretty amazing. Of course once I found out they were made by Mercedes Benz my opinion of them went way up. The are just as safe as most luxury coupes. The technology and quality they use to make this little car make the little price tag look even more attractive. You can get the Pure model for as low as $11,500…but a more realistic price considering that you are going to want air conditioning is about $12,500. The Passion Cabriolet starts at $16,500. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to get one of these for a roustabout.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Darrel permalink
    June 30, 2008 10:37 am

    I’m with you. I’m thinking “this is a quirky-looking little roust-a-bout that ought to be fun to drive and get awsome gas mileage to boot”. BUT, according to the Consumer Report people, not is all rosy with the Smart car. Yes, the visibility is great, it did well in crash tests, and you can do a u-turn in a typical driveway, but
    they could only get about 38mpg on average. Other problems include a “horrendous ride”, very rough shifting, a slow, noisy engine, very slow acceleration, and, the kicker, it requires premium fuel. It should be much better for that price.

  2. administrator permalink*
    June 30, 2008 11:53 am

    Well you would know more about cars than me, but I still kinda like it. Can’t you just tinker with it and fix all the problems….please 🙂

  3. Darrel permalink
    July 1, 2008 4:39 pm

    I can never say no to you. Let’s see, all I have to do is google the best place to get an online engineering degree. Simple. (I still kind of like it too. I’d sure like to test drive it.)

Leave a Reply

