Skip to content

5 senses, 5 elements, 5 sheaths

May 1, 2008

5 phases for the tree of life

1. Seed
2. Root
3. Tree
4. Branch
5. Fruit

I think this is a great way to look at our  anniversary. I know for me I have felt like we have really been in the process of bearing fruit this year, and I love the imagery of our life being a growing tree over the past 5 years. I’ve felt more in love lately than ever, but it’s different than I thought. It’s a deep respect kind of love, an awe inspiring love, a giddy school girl kind of love, an irresistible attraction kind of love, a more than I ever thought possible kind of love.

I am so excited for tomorrow, just to have some alone time with Micah but more than that I can’t wait to spend the day cherishing all the sweet things about our life. The preciousness of our beautiful sons. The joy of shared dreams. The healthy hearts created by our faith. The peace of a shared future. The knowledge that I am so truly blessed is overwhelming some days. And I’ve been blessed to know him for 2890 days.

The bursting tenderness I feel everytime I look at my wedding band still gives me butterflies. Funnily enough my band has 5 pointed oak leaves on it, and I’ve always thought of our love as a mighty oak tree, sturdy, deep rooted, and able to provide enough shelter to rest in. So maybe our sixth year will be spent resting in the shade we have spent so long growing, and if you have read my blog over the past year you know how painful some of that growth has been for us. My dream is that one day our branches will reach so far and be so strong that our grand children, children, family, and friends will hang from the branches, lean on the trunk and sit in our shade. And for our branches to be that strong our roots will have to run so deep that nothing can destroy us.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki Moser permalink
    May 1, 2008 12:48 pm

    Sweetheart, you made me cry, again. What beautiful words and what beautiful sentiments. God is truly blessing your family and your heart. One of my prayers for you is that you continue to develop the talent of writing that He has given you, and your fruit will be more than you can ever imagine. Have a great celebration! Love, mom

  2. Darrel permalink
    May 1, 2008 7:34 pm

    You are truly a blessing and an inspiration for all who are fortunate enough to know you, and I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of you. No relationship is always easy. It’s the tough times that define the level of committment that is there. You two know how to face tough times, you face them TOGETHER. When you do that, everything falls into place. Ecc. 4: 9,10.
    Have a joyous celebration! Love, Dad.

  3. Micah permalink
    May 1, 2008 9:51 pm

    What a blessing, a truly glorious blessing…

  4. May 2, 2008 6:37 pm

    Ami,
    You are such a wonderful inspiration. Thanks for sharing your beautiful words. What a fantastic image! How great to have the gift of painting pictures both with a brush and a pencil (or keyboard). May God keep your roots strong.
    love,
    Aunt Susan

Leave a Reply

