Skip to content

she designed a life she loved

April 30, 2008

Have you ever been struck by a particular color, and all of the sudden you see it everywhere. I’ve gone through different phases and styles over the past couple of years trying to figure out what my “style” is when it comes to decorating our home. I like things to be warm and inviting, but I’m not a “colorful” person. I like most colors in muted hughs, but hate primary colors.

I think the problem I ran into when I first started was that I love anything that is well designed. I’m a freak for symmetry (I know that probably means something horrible). So it took a while to look beyond the design and figure out the components of similarity in all the designs that I love.

So after much searching (and a little disbelief) the common factor is…white. I never would have expected that about myself, I’ve always thought my style was more french country or traditional, nope. I don’t mean the stark kind of what but more a vanilla icecream or porcelain. Maybe it’s the artist in me that likes the thought of always having a blank canvas around to decorate however I see fit or maybe it’s a cry of protest against the chocolate finger prints and juice box spills that constantly surround me. What ever it may be, I’m thankful I’ve stumbled across it. Now that I’ve figured it out I can’t believe I did’t see it before. If you look in my closet I have more white shirts than any other color. If you ask what my favorite pictures are…it’s b&w. I never where colored nail polish only french manicure or nude. And a billion other reasons come to mind, but there’s the start.

The best tips I’ve run into so far is that when decorating monochromatically is to use lots of texture so it doesn’t look sterile. When we finally move into our new house I’m going to try it out, but until then, here are the pics that convinced me of my white obsession.

The Feng Shui Color of Purity and Innocence, White is also considered one of the supreme colors in Yogi traditions. My first Yoga teacher used to say that this is the color of Completion, Ultimate Wisdom and Assimilation of all Life Lessons. Be it in the fresh snow or in the immaculate dress of a beautiful bride, pure White Color fascinates us with its feng shui energy of Innocence and Tranquility.

By the way, I also adore painted ceilings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2008 1:35 am

    That chapel is the Seaside chapel! My parents have a home there…so beautiful!

  2. May 1, 2008 1:36 am

    That chapel is the Seaside chapel in Seaside, Florida. My parents have a home there…so beautiful!

  3. May 1, 2008 1:41 am

    I was looking at these pictures thinking “gosh these look familiar”…did you see the blog linked on my page for “Simply Seleta”? If not, you need to go there…because you all have used a lot of the same pictures 🙂

  4. administrator permalink*
    May 1, 2008 9:56 am

    Yes, I did steal them, they are so beautiful. The funny thing is that the day before my mother and I were discussing the chaple we would build on our farm one day and when I saw that pic I knew it was exactly what we’d dreamed of. (Only ours would be a much smaller version, just able to hold about 50 people).

  5. May 15, 2008 11:51 am

    Hi, it’s me, Simply Seleta. I am flattered that you found inspiration from my images on white. White is pure and lovely and offers a sheer elegance no other color can match.

    In the future, it is good to credit your photos from their original source, that way we can be given proper recognition for our work.

    Thanks,
    Seleta

    http://www.simplyseleta.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

