Skip to content

What’s it worth to you?

February 20, 2008

oilrig.jpg

What would a family farm be worth to you?

If your immigrant parents had come to this country and purchased a fairly large peice of land, would you be willing to split with it if the number was right? My grandmother (and her two brothers) who share ownership of the family land, that by most accounts would be considered worthless. It is mainly red dirt with no topsoil that has the ability to support a handful of cattle, like most Oklahoma farms.

But lets just say the government strolled along and offered you a pretty penny to drill for oil? Would you be able to give up? I gotta say I kinda like the fact that Grandma stuck it to the man and said no. But on the other hand….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jineane permalink
    February 20, 2008 3:10 pm

    We have land that’s been in our family since the 1700s so that really neat, but for the right price, I would probably part with it. The way the system works, they can take if they really want it anyway so why not make a little money on it

  2. Micah permalink
    March 10, 2008 8:34 am

    That’s really cool.
    I’m not sure if I would part with the land, but I would part with mineral rights! “Sure, come drill, pay me an exhorbitant amount of money while I continue to do what I’ve always done, just doing it around a bunch of well pumps…

Leave a Reply

