Skip to content

I have no idea…

January 23, 2008

Last night I put Grey down around 9 because he took a good nap. I went in once when he wouldn’t calm down and traded out the toy he had for a book (you see, I’m not all bad, don’t care if he sleeps as long as he doesn’t wake up Gentry). So then I came back out to the dinner table. We had no TV on, no radio, no noise what so ever. But at 9:45 he was still awake, so I went to go check on him…

He had gotten one of those jelly filled ice packs and somehow ripped it open. He had poured the filling all over the floor. In an attempt to hide it he pushed his top mattress off onto the floor. When that didn’t seem to do the trick he took off his sheet, unzipped his plastic sheet and tried to put the filling in there. I walked in at this point.
I means seriously where do I go from here…I’m out of creative ideas, and bribery. I’ve just got nothing left, what do you do with a child who is hell bent towards destruction?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:28 pm

    well- it seems that his destruction is at least evolving and becoming more mature. he has moved from baby lotion and oil to food coloring and freezable gel. Little buddy’s growing up!

  2. Janie Ferguson permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:30 pm

    This may seem mean but Landen is very destructive. From the time he could understand, I made it a rule that anytime he got out of his bed (other than bathroom or a drink) he was spanked. I did have to spank a few times the first night, maybe twice the second night, but after that he knew better and the problem went away. Hope this helps!!! If he is destructive during the daytime as well, I have heard that if they break stuff of yours, you should take away somthing of theirs that way they know what it feels like. Then when they stop breaking things they can have theirs back, I never tried this but it may work.

  3. administrator permalink*
    January 23, 2008 2:52 pm

    I’ve done both of those things. About a year ago I took away every toy and book that he had and made him earn them back. And we do spank when he gets out of bed, or when he does something he shouldn’t. That’s why I feel at a loss…he is not easily discouraged.

  4. Janie Ferguson permalink
    January 23, 2008 5:53 pm

    Does he have places you let him go or things you give him for rewards? You maybe could take a reward away everytime he isn’t so good and give a reward everytime he is good. Could you offer him some M&M’s in the mornings or at night if he behaves himself? I will try to think of some ideas for you!

  5. January 24, 2008 10:00 pm

    Sorry Ami. No creative discipline tips to offer here.

    But, why in the world aren’t you taking pictures of this stuff????

    Maybe you could at least turn it into a business or entertainment venture where parents can share their own kid’s deviousness- or at least feel better that they aren’t as creative as Grey.

    By the way, I think Colston is headed the same direction. So if you figure out how to short circuit this, by all means let me know!

  6. January 25, 2008 9:19 am

    My heart goes out to you Ami. I know your patience is stretched to the limit. My only advice is to pray and listen for guidance. Which you probably do anyway but don’t give up. Kids like Grey often turn out to be the ones who do great things when they grow up. Have you read some of the books by Dobson and others on dealing with challenging children? Sometimes they help, sometimes not. I will pray for you!
    love, Aunt Susan

  7. Denton permalink
    March 12, 2008 9:03 am

    kill him

Leave a Reply

