Skip to content

Deep Breaths

October 15, 2007

I seem to  be suffering from an incurable problem.

 A friend of mine recently wrote an article talking about what makes a house  a home, and it struck a cord with me. Though his problems are far different from mine we both ache for a place that welcomes us when we enter the door.

People have commented to me in the past about how comfortable my home is, this is by far my favorite compliment. I’ve always tried really hard to achieve that and it comes at no small cost. I don’t mean by purchasing expensive things. I’ve read books on Feng Shui, color schemes and how they effect the psyche, furniture positioning, picture arranging…..

I love houses and everything they can represent to you. They can be a refuge, a meeting place, a starting point, a retirement plan, a nest. But what happens when we can’t afford the home that will be all of those things to us? I need room to expand and rearrange ( I love to move furniture). The home we have now would bring no return with expansion and the rooms are to small to rearrange the furniture.

I’m always looking for a new nest and new resting spot. Micah hates this, he hates to move, hates to renovate. He’s one of these people who always puts everything back where he got it. While this is admirable, it can be infuriating.

So I’ve been on a house hunt, I seem to do this yearly. The first one I found was already under contract, but I went to look anyway. The second one went under contract the night before I enquired about it. The third one’s realtor didn’t return my many phone calls and when I finally got ahold of her she told me that the seller has decided to take it off the market. Now some of you may think that I should just quit. Three strikes and your out, right? But, I’ve decided that this should be fuel for the fire, I should be more diligent. Obviously God is preparing something better.

So I packed up the kids today and went on a search for sale by owner homes, because nothing new is on the MLS. I found some promising places. I just need a new place. I love our home, it’s served it’s purpose well, but there will be no sorrow in our parting.

 I just have this feeling, like when you are having an asthma attack, where you can draw in a breath but your diaphragm won’t expand. I just need a place to take a good deep breath.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki Moser permalink
    October 16, 2007 11:12 am

    Dearest Heart,
    I will be praying that the Lord directs your path and gives you the fresh air that you need. In writing this lovely prose, He heard your prayer.

  2. October 16, 2007 6:19 pm

    Ami, You have such a beautiful way of expressing yourself. I pray that God will give you and Micah wisdom and direction. May He give you the desires of your heart.

  3. Micah permalink
    October 19, 2007 10:51 pm

    Well, you gotta love the sweet support from your aunt and mom. BTW, I don’t “hate” to renovate or move things around. I’m not in a place where I feel like I have the time to invest in such things. Bigger fish to fry for now…
    We just have to stick to our plan and be patient.

  4. administrator permalink*
    October 20, 2007 2:59 pm

    I shouldn’t have used the word “hate”, you are just not very fond of it right now. Sorry if that came off a bit judgemental…you know I love you!

Leave a Reply

