Skip to content

Wanna see me spit venom?

October 8, 2007

rash4.JPG
Okay, called the Dr. this morning to take Grey in for a proper diagnosis and told them I didn’t want to see the NP (I know I’m a little rude). They informed me that she was on maternity leave for another week so that was really my only option other than the ER. So we went in and she says it’s an allergic reaction to the antibiotic. 

So here’s the problem…she threw antibiotics at what was probably seasonal allergies, which caused the high fever, diarrhea, & rash. So to solve it what does she do? She prescribes a STEROID! Are you kidding me, a steroid for a 3 yr old. She told me it would cause vomiting for the first two days and that it would take 5 days to work, and she said we should also be dosing him with Benadryl ever four hours for the next 5 days. The antibiotics will only be in his system for 7 more days. Now, she listened to his lungs and they sound clear so the reaction isn’t respiratory, so we decided against the steriod.

We have some Zyrtec that they prescribed Gentry for his allergies to help with his skin irritation (before we knew it was a bacterial infection), we decided that this was a much better alternative to the steriod.

Both my children have been misdiagnosed and in one case it was for the better and one for the worse. But either way I can only wonder what mistakes would have been made if we actually did everything the medical community suggested. Their little systems would have been so overrun with crap that we would have probably wondered for years what the real problems were and in the process created many more.

 No wonder children today are walking balls of illness. It really is not normal for children to be constantly sick and being sick when your young does not equate a strong immune system when older. The immune system isn’t fully developed until the age of seven…so what sense does it make to try and expose our children to everything before this age? If it’s constantly compromised how can it ever fully develop?

So here I sit, next to my beautiful son, dressed in his gorilla costume, and thank God that we waited until he was three to give him antibiotics, and that we’ve taken steps to let his little immune system develop, and that we are discerning and not blindly trusting, and I’m even thankful for a Dr. willing to work within our box of what is acceptable.

I told you I was a little worked up.
rash3.JPG

rash.JPG

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2007 4:44 pm

    Ami, Nothing is harder than seeing your little one suffer with something like that. I don’t blame you for being upset. Poor guy! Tell Grey we love him and hope he feels better soon. I pray God will give you wisdom. (His costume is such a cute idea!)
    love you guys

  2. Laura permalink
    October 8, 2007 6:14 pm

    OMG…I don’t think I would be as calm as he seems to be in the pics! Bless Grey’s heart!

  3. Vicki Moser permalink
    October 9, 2007 7:02 am

    It makes my heart ache to see him, but I know you have reared a strong little boy and it won’t last forever. Be sure and write down the name of that antibiotic. He should take some pro-biotics for a while also. Let me know if you want me to send you some or you can get some at the health food store. We’ll just pray that Grey doesn’t suffer for the next few days. Love you guys. Give everyone a hug. Mom

Leave a Reply

