Skip to content

We’re all sick

October 1, 2007

Grey got a cough last week and though he never got a fever and nothing else seemed to be wrong with him we kept him home from school. Then on Wed. I started to feel bad and by Fri. was full blown sick, and to top it all off I lost my voice on Sat. Gentry has two teeth coming in and thank God they both broke through the skin today but he had a little green snot this morning so we took a family trip to the doctor. And surprise surprise they put us all on antibiotics.

I’m a little pissed off because she couldn’t actually name what was wrong with us. No ear infections, no sore throat, no swollen glands, no fever, just green snot and I guess since most people come in begging for antibiotics she thought we would want one too (it wasn’t our usual doctor who would have known better). I feel like such a bad parent, this is the first time Grey has had antibiotics and that’s great, but it sucks that I couldn’t do that for Gentry as well. I’m sure part of it is due to the fact that Grey brought crap home from school, and that I work at a gym where people think that their child is no longer sick if he’s on antibiotics so they bring them in anyway. And I wish people would stop saying that it’s normal for a kid to have a runny nose when teething, it’s not! I know I sound like a raving lunatic, I’m just a little worked up from little sleep, lots of caffeine, and being trapped in silence, UGH!

 And yes I know I could have refused the antibiotics, but I did ask them for the mildest one they had (see I can compromise).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2007 5:03 pm

    Ami, Don’t be too hard on yourself. I think you did great to get Grey this far without antibiotics. And doctors do assume that is what everyone wants. I hate to think how many antibiotics Jake had as a baby. He had so many ear infections. You are doing a great job!

  2. Vicki Moser permalink
    October 1, 2007 6:05 pm

    You are doing a great job sweetie. I know it hurts to see your babies hurt and you want everything to be perfect for them, but you can only do the best you can do. As you learn, you do better. I hate to think what I put you guys through just from ignorance. I pray you will all feel better soon. Thank you for all you do.

  3. Micah permalink
    October 2, 2007 9:46 am

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

