Skip to content

Slippers for Grey

September 26, 2007

shoefin.JPG

When I was making Gentry’s slippers Grey kept asking for some. I wasn’t really planning on making him any until Micah said “don’t worry some day he’ll stop asking you to make him things.” It made me sad to think that one of these days he would no longer ask me to make him something special…so out of motherly love/guilt I made him a pair. They were easier than Gentry’s because I could get him to stand still to measure and I’d already worked out the kinks on Gentry’s, and since Grey is old enough to ask for what he wants he decided they needed to be firetruck slippers…viola’.
shoebottom.JPG shoetop.JPG

shoemon.JPG shoefire.JPG

6 Comments leave one →
  1. akentuckycreation permalink
    September 26, 2007 1:35 pm

    I love these slippers. Would you share your pattern and instructions? I have five grandchildren and number six is on the way. I think these would be adoreable for me to make for them. I have enjoyed your posts before. Please check out my blog also.

    Thanks,
    Lee

  2. September 26, 2007 2:41 pm

    You are just awesome Ami!

  3. mrsneedham permalink*
    September 26, 2007 4:19 pm

    Wow! Thanks, it’s so sweet that you think they look so good. This is going so sound pretentious, but it’s not meant to… I didn’t go off a pattern. I had Grey stand on some paper and just traced his feet and then just made everything according to that. I think the best trick I’ve got for you is to pick no fray fabric (I found some faux suede at wal-mart $7/yd).
    Once I finished the souls I had him step on them and just draped peices over to see how much I needed, then cut a dart, pinned it and sewed the dart with a blanket stitch.
    All of the interior is done with a blanket stitch as well. I stole the firetruck design from robeez.com.
    I’ll try and figure out how to do a pattern and put it on the site…thanks for the encouragment.

  4. Vicki Moser permalink
    September 26, 2007 5:10 pm

    Ami, you just continue to amaze me. What a great idea and they are so cute! Could you take a better picture of Gentry’s? I really couldn’t tell what they looked like. Also, I love projects that work up fast. You did these in one day didn’t you? Can’t wait to work on something with you. Hope we have time while you are here. luvya, mom

  5. Laura permalink
    September 28, 2007 9:55 pm

    with micah’s cheese making and you now being a cobbler I think there are only a few more steps to your full transition to Amish-dom…which will naturally be complete with a good ol’ barn raising. You will now barter with the English for what you need.

    Laura

    KIDDING- you know I’m not one to let a joke die without beating it to death!

  6. Micah permalink
    October 1, 2007 9:36 am

    I can’t partake with the Saxons. We’ve entered a treaty with the Indians for our provisions. We make them furniture and they give us buckskins.

Leave a Reply

