Skip to content

Gentry get’s his blood drawn

September 18, 2007

We went to the hospital today to get Gentry’s blood drawn to test his iron level. It was HORRIBLE!!! I asked the phlebotomist is they have a lot of children come through and she said yes, so I just assumed she would be able to find the vien…nope. She stuck that needle in and hunted around for like 45 seconds trying to hit the vien. I was sooooo pissed off. We will never have pediatric work done there again. As a side note, I’m not a huge fan of nurses, if I’m paying my Dr. to do something I want my Dr. to do it, not a nurse. I think they should have to wear stripe or stars that indicates how long they have been doing this, and then they should have to tell you how many times they have performed a procedure before you let them touch you. Dr. go through numerous years of specified training but nurses can go through 2 and be able to draw blood…seriously, that just seems so wrong.  I was so shook up when we left that I backed into some lady, but she must have not had insurance cause she just flipped me off and drove away…oh well.

On another topic, I went to my first belly dancing class last night and it was a lot of fun. We did about 30 min of yoga and pilates to start (which I love b/c my joints are so bad), then did an hr. of dancing which was pretty cool. I’ll let you know how it goes, it’s a six week course.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Micah permalink
    September 19, 2007 8:32 am

    Honey… from years of listening to my mom, you can bet that there are a lot of doctors that you wouldn’t want within a hundred yards of Gentry and a needle. Try to remember, he’s fat and little veined. That doesn’t mean that she did a great job, I’ve got nothing to compare it to other than my own experience being thin and having veins like ropes.
    Either way, it was a pretty heart-wrenching experience. Poor little guy, for the most part just sat there and cried his little heart out, didn’t really struggle. I’m glad I got to hold him, but man it made it tough. It’s AMAZING how instinctual it is to prevent pain to your kids! I was ready to kick some tukus had it not been for logic.
    How’s the fat guy’s arm?

  2. mrsneedham permalink*
    September 19, 2007 9:31 am

    Surprisingly there’s no real bruising today. I was fully prepared to take a picture of the horrible damage and show the doctor, but no go. And I don’t really want anybody within a 100yds of Gentry with a needle, but I stand by my earlier statement.

  3. Laura permalink
    September 20, 2007 7:05 pm

    I say lets get us a posse together and go cause a ruckus on some phlebotomist ACE! Who’s in?

  4. Micah permalink
    September 21, 2007 10:28 am

    YEEE-HAAWWW! Kick hiz ass, Seabass!

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    September 24, 2007 11:48 am

    Not a huge fan of nurses huh? No kidding. The phlebotomist is not usually a nurse anyway. Doctors are not trained in this at all. Phlebotomists receive a certificate after completing a fairly short course of study. Good technique is an art, and children are notoriously difficult. I sympathize with how traumatizing this was. Thankfully, Gentry will likely not recall the event.

Leave a Reply

