Skip to content

Fall is here!

September 12, 2007

I finally broke down and made my first Derby Pie of the season. I usually don’t start making them until around Thanksgiving and make my last one on Derby day but Micah brought home some maltose from work and was dying to have one made with it. Maltose is a cross between corn syrup and malt but not nearly as sweet. It was great! I was sooooo upset that I could only have a few bites. I still haven’t weaned Gentry so I’m trying to not eat anything with eggs in it.  I put a lot of egg in my Derby pie because I like it more custardy than syrupy.
derbypie.jpg
Then after dinner Micah said he had a surprise for me in his briefcase…it looked like a bottle of wine, but it wasn’t. It was a bottle of acai berry juice. A guy at work was selling them and the juice is supposed to have fantastic health benefits and because everyone at work buys our kids crap Micah said “sure I’ll take one”. The guy brought him the bottle and said don’t worry you can pay me later. Micah asked how much it was and he said…………….wait for it……………wait for it…………..$39!!! So we now have a bottle of juice in the fridge that is more expensive than most bottles of wine we buy. You’re supposed to drink 2oz. a day to reap the health benefits so I figure to make it worth the price I should mix it with vodka. I’ll let you know how it goes. :-)> And don’t worry Gentry’s not allergic to vodka.

acai.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    September 12, 2007 11:29 pm

    My cousin, Sara sells that stuff. To hear her tell it it will do everything from cure cancer to take rust off the car bumper. I am not saying that it doesn’t work but beware…it is a pyramid scheme. My cousin can’t stop at peddling the juice, they want to get people selling it too!

    Laura

    ps- I know it has a lot of antioxidents but I’m not sure what else it has going for it.

  2. Micah permalink
    September 13, 2007 9:02 am

    Laura/Vicki,
    Yeah, I’ve been researching AOX’s (AntiOXidants) for about a month from various sources, both natural and not. HOWEVER, I can also tell you that the anthocyanins in the acai berry juice and even other flavanoids, flavanols, isoflavones, etc. in green tea, cacao, red wine, etc. have not proven to be an AOX in vivo (in your body). Instead, there’s probably another route that they work because they’re not really absorbed into the body. Some people have suggested that it benefits the microflora in your intestine, some suggest that what little does absorb, targets cancerous cells. So when they say acai is an AOX it’s true in a test tube, but not in the body… unless you inject the stuff.
    I felt bad for the guy, so I bought a bottle off him. Hindsight maybe I shouldn’t have because DAMMIT I hate pyramid schemes! Oh well, what’s done is done now. Do you suppose somebody’s got to be the sacrificial idiot occaisionally? Speaking of, thanks for buying a tub of cookie dough!

  3. mrsneedham permalink*
    September 13, 2007 9:54 am

    Okay, here to report that mixed with vodka it tastes like cough syrup, I had to spit it out. UGH!!!

  4. Laura permalink
    September 13, 2007 10:58 am

    A+ for effort…I am so happy that you took the time and effort to mix your healthy juice cancer killer with vodka!

  5. Tami permalink
    September 13, 2007 12:37 pm

    Laugh out loud 🙂

    PS The check is in the mail. No need to send Guido

  6. Vicki Moser permalink
    September 13, 2007 6:31 pm

    I am asked about these type of juices all of the time. There are several out there right now. I wrote one of my columns about them. Here are the facts as I know them. There is no one miracle cure for anything. Food in a processed form is probably going to loose something…nutritional value, a buffer that helps with protection or absorption, etc. My advice is this: food is your first medicine and eat it as close to nature as you can. As with anything, there are exceptions, but this works out pretty well. I get preachy, so I’ll stop here. When I wrote the column I received an irate e-mail from someone selling one of the juices for the network marketing co. Oh well.

  7. Micah permalink
    September 14, 2007 9:10 am

    Vicki, I’m on board with that thinking. It’s funny because if you follow the research, they look far and wide for the next nutritional compound to make money off of. Eventually, there’ll be so many supplements out there that your morning pill will be the size of an apple and people will say, “why don’t you just eat an apple?” The nutrients are there in perhaps the right absorptive form and if not, it was probably designed that way. Case in point are the proanthocyanins vs. anthocyanins (grape seeds vs. grapes skins). I do think that not all habitats people live in allow them to eat right from nature. Do you think crossing extreme habitats like the Irish eating an Indian diet is beneficial or detrimental? That is, should we be eating more foreign foods or domestic foods?

Leave a Reply

