Skip to content

Cheese, quilts, & kitties…

September 6, 2007

Over the weekend Micah decided that he wanted to make me a cheesecake from “scratch”, I had no idea how far he was going to take that. He decided to make the graham crackers from scratch and to make home made cheese. Both were actually much easier than I expected and SO worth the effort. (of course all I did was watch 🙂 He even made chocolate sauce and the BEST praline sauce. I was so excited to watch that I didn’t take pics of some of the best stuff, like pulling the curds from the whey, but here’s what I have.
grahm2.jpggrahm.jpgcheese.jpgwhey.jpgcheeseball.jpgblended.jpgcheesecake.jpg
While Micah made cheese I finished up Logan’s quilt, which I absolutely hated, the binding kept giving me so much trouble and I sewed some seams three times. I was so discouraged that I finished it and put it up claiming it to horrible to give as a gift, but upon second inspection it’s not so bad. (and from the first sentence in this section you would think that we are 75 not 25)
finalman.jpgfinalback.jpgfinalfront.jpg
I started making my first stuffed animal last night. I used the pointy kitty template from Wee Wonderfuls. So far it’s super cute and  much easier than I thought it would be. I used a white flannel with green polka dots and baby pink felt, then aqua stitching for contrast. I’m going to give it to a friends daughter b/c it reminds me of her (she’s kind of a mod little girl)…can you guess who?
kittyhead.jpgkittypieces.jpg

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    September 6, 2007 4:20 pm

    Micah made cheese? You people are out of control!!! Most people consider homemade to mean that they didn’t buy the no bake kind from Kroger. OUT OF CONTROL!

  2. mrsneedham permalink*
    September 6, 2007 4:45 pm

    I told you I had no idea he was going to do that, but I must say it was by far the best cheesecake I have EVER tasted.

    Hey, what else would a food chemist do on a free weekend…

  3. Laura permalink
    September 6, 2007 6:51 pm

    save me a piece! HAHA

  4. Micah permalink
    September 7, 2007 8:51 am

    I really need to bring in a piece for you and Brock. With Ami not being able to eat it anymore (Gentry’s egg allergy), I certainly won’t be able to finish that much cheesecake. Thanks for the compliments, I think…=)

  5. September 7, 2007 12:23 pm

    You two are unbelievable! What a fun and interesting home to grow up in. : )

  6. Laura permalink
    September 7, 2007 12:54 pm

    Micah- I heard good things from Brock….and its a compliment…I can’t believe you didn’t get that out of me calling you a freaky cheese maker! (aka Fromagerie)

  7. Micah permalink
    September 7, 2007 1:51 pm

    Hey Laura, I just gave Brock 2 slices of cheesecake with the chocolate sauce and praline. I warned him I was going to post that I brought Brock a slice for him and you. He replied “Nononono, don’t do that…” He was kidding…
    -Fromagerie

  8. Laura permalink
    September 8, 2007 1:27 am

    OMG- I take back all the crazy cheese man jokes. I don’t know what you did to make the cheese ro the graham crackers but it was FABULOUS! Mama Like!

  9. mrsneedham permalink*
    September 8, 2007 11:38 am

    Gratzie!

  10. September 10, 2007 1:05 pm

    Micah, I want you to make me a hamburger from scratch. That means you have to make your own cow first.

    Gauntlet thrown!

  11. Micah permalink
    September 10, 2007 1:25 pm

    Hehehe, that shouldn’t be a problem. All I have to do is tell Ami I have a love child from a high school girlfriend… that way she’ll have a cow. Bah dump bah.

  12. September 10, 2007 5:20 pm

    Puns. Boo!

  13. Laura permalink
    September 10, 2007 6:33 pm

    you should take it on the road, micah!

    PS-there for a sec I thought you were saying that you were going to have a baby w/ your high school gf b/c she was a cow!

Leave a Reply

