Skip to content

Back from a much needed break

August 19, 2007

Well, we are back from another vacation at Natural Bridge, this time with Micah’s family. We stayed at a lovely place that had a private pond/lake for us to play in and though there are other things to do around the park I never left the water except to eat and sleep. I must say that it would have been much more stressful than it was if it wasn’t for the phone conversation I had with Amy the night before we left. I was in such shock to find out about Natalie’s death, having just seen them the weekend before. After finding out Micah and I both went and laid down with the boys and just counted our overwhelming blessings, we even let Grey sleep with us.
family.jpgpond.jpgraft.jpg

smores2.jpgsmores.jpgshoulders.jpg

salmon.jpggrey.jpggentryboat.jpg

stickers.jpggrin.jpggentrybike.jpgeby.jpg

fishing.jpgcanoe.jpgdinner1.jpg
I don’t know Bryan and Erika that well, we have mutual friends and seem to end up at the same places, but we’ve never really hung out. But even from this distance it was extremely painful to know what they were going through. I desperately wanted to do something for them, without imposing on them…and well I’m still waiting for that opportunity. So for now I’m just praying a lot and trying to encourage those of my friends who are actually close enough to visit them.

Today was actually Grey’s 3rd birthday and since we’ve had several parties with different sides of the family we just kept it very low key. We woke up and had pancakes (his fav.), then we watched Cars, Micah and Grey we to church, and then we had speghetti for dinner (upon his request). We gave him a train set and he and Micah had a blast putting it together (I think Micah was as excited as he was about it). I even let him eat ice cream in the floor.

train.jpg
 I finally finished the last Harry Potter and I loved all of the plot twists and the fact that the all lived happily ever after. I know a lot of people think these books are silly, but anytime someone can create a whole world I’m a fan. I’m so impressed with he use of names and “spells”, you really get the full experience…super cool!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    August 19, 2007 1:40 pm

    Ami, You did do something for this couple with the poem you wrote. As I said I hope you gave it to them. Please tell Grey Happy Birthday for me! I can’t believe he is 3! I also enjoyed the Harry Potter books. I don’t think they are silly. I love fantasy. Jake and I enjoyed reading it together. I had to let him finish it first though! He didn’t want me to find out the ending before he did. Actually we stood in line at mid-night at Wal-Mart so we could start reading right away. It was crazy!
    love, Aunt Susan

  2. Micah permalink
    August 20, 2007 2:51 pm

    I think the picture tells it all. I’m just a 3 year old who has to crouch a little further…

  3. Laura permalink
    August 23, 2007 8:59 pm

    Thanks for killing the ending for me! I didn’t know if Harry lived!-LOL

Leave a Reply

