Skip to content

For Natalie

August 13, 2007

Hearts breaking so close, from the loss of a  child. Big beautiful eyes, that gleamed when she smiled.

From mother to mother, the pain is too real. My burden to know, her burden to feel.

A network of friends, no soul left untouched. These people, this family, are all loved so much.

Phones ringing, knees bending, tears falling, prayers sending.

Earth shattering screams, behind silent stoic faces. Memories come flooding from too many places.

What to do, what to say, how to act, how to feel, my emotions are whirling, I cannot sit still.

She paces and screams, he sits and he stares, The God she crys for cannot answer her prayers.

Reasons unknown, causes unclear, So on bended knee, I hope my prayers you will hear.

I pray in that moment, you sent the most beautiful angel, dressed in fairytale pink with ruffles and bows.

And as she woke our sweet baby girl she told her they were going to play dress-up and paint their toes.

That they would hop on clouds and ride shooting stars & mommy and daddy would never be far.

Lord, I pray that that moment was soft and sweet. There could be no gentler way than to take her in her sleep.

Breath to breath, sunset to sunrise. First thought in the morning when they open their eyes.

No comfort, no break, motionless ceaseless grief. Lord, I pray that this time doesn’t shake thier belief.

Give them peace, give them rest. Comfort their shattered hearts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Darrel permalink
    August 13, 2007 7:32 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to such an unspeakable tragedy. I truly wish that I could offer some words of wisdom here or add some
    heartfelt assurance, but I can’t think of a single thing to say that
    hasn’t already been expressed in this beautiful, powerful poem. To add or take away one word from what you have said here would be unthinkable. It is without a doubt one of the most inspiring, and at the same time heartwrenching pieces of prose I have ever read and could only have been expressed mother to mother. PLEASE offer our heartfelt condolences to the family and tell them that they are in our thoughts and will be on my prayer list for a very long time.

  2. Susan permalink
    August 14, 2007 12:26 am

    Beautiful! Ami, please keep using the gift God has given you. It will help so many people.
    love, Aunt Susan

  3. Vicki Moser permalink
    August 17, 2007 7:48 pm

    Hi Sweetheart, I was so moved by this poem I immediately started sharing it and didn’t realize I hadn’t left a comment. I sent it out as my Better Health, Naturally poem this week, so it was published in 12 newspapers. I also shared it with the staff at Better Bodies and gave a copy to your Nana. We have all been blessed by it and now through the papers and the internet it will travel the world, I’m sure. I have only been able to read it two times. I cried harder the second time.

  4. Micah permalink
    August 20, 2007 2:43 pm

    Beautiful…

  5. Laura permalink
    August 23, 2007 8:56 pm

    Ami- how did she die? It all sound so sad?

  6. mrsneedham permalink*
    August 23, 2007 11:44 pm

    Ask me sometime in person. It is very sad and no words I put down could possible describe it.

Leave a Reply

